Friday, November 01, 2013

FAA History Lesson -- November 1, 2010

Who knew? Evidently, November 1st is Wake Turbulence Reclassification Day at the FAA.

From the Update to FAA Historical Chronology 1997-2012 (A .pdf file)

"November 1, 2010: An interim FAA requirement mandated that planes landing after Boeing's 747-8 jumbo jet stay at least 10 miles behind went into effect. The FAA said the interim standards were based, in part, on guidance received from international regulatory organizations that studied the wake vortices of the Airbus 380-800 in 2006. After those studies, the International Civil Aviation Organization issued a 10-mile separation standard for the A380 superjumbo jet. This was later relaxed, but a separation of 6 to 8 miles was still required for the A380, depending on the size of the aircraft behind it. Prior to its Boeing 747-8 ruling, the U.S. requirement for large airplanes was just 4 miles separation from other heavy jets and up to 6 miles from light aircraft. (See August 17, 1996.)"

But wait! There's more!

"November 1, 2012: FAA implemented new wake turbulence categories for aircraft separation standards. Under the re-categorization, aircraft models were placed in one of six categories (labeled A-F) based on considerations other than maximum gross takeoff weight, such as approach speeds, wing characteristics, and lateral control characteristics. FAA split the heavy category (including the “super” Airbus A380) into three wake categories, “A” (super); “B” (upper heavy); and “C” (lower heavy) aircraft. When a lower heavy jet followed an upper heavy jet into an airport, the separation standard remained at four miles. When an upper heavy jet followed a lower heavy jet, the separation could be reduced to three miles. The former method of wake turbulence categorization was based solely on maximum gross takeoff weight. (See November 1, 2010.)"

But wait! There's EVEN MORE! From today!

Wake re-categorization begins at Louisville

"The US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has expanded wake re-categorisation (RECAT) standards to Louisville International Airport-Standiford Field, writes Focus FAA."

Don Brown
November 1, 2013

1 comment:

Elaine said...

So, in this case, the third time is _NOT_ the charm?